Dean's Office
Dalenca Pottas
Prof Dalenca Pottas
Position: Deputy Dean: Engineering, the Built Environment and Technology
Department: Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Technology
Room: MTLC, R102
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9100
Fax: 27 41 504 9579
Email: Dalenca.Pottas@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (PU CHE), BSc(Hons) (PU CHE), MSc (RAU), PhD(RAU), MIITPSA
Expertise: Health Informatics

Sue Petratos
Dr. Sue Petratos
Position: Director of School - School of IT
Department: School of Information Technology
Room: R136
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3638
Email: sue.petratos@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Comp Dat Proc, NH Dip Computer Systems, MDip Tech IT (PET), PhD (NMMU)

Ms Charlene Dale
Ms Charlene Dale
Position: Executive Secretary
Department: Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Technology
Room: C252
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 1111
Fax: +27 41 504 9283
Email: charlene.dale@mandela.ac.za

Mr Jonathan Dorothy
Mr Jonathan Dorothy
Position: Senior Manager: Student Admission
Department: 2nd Avenue Campus
Location: Bird Street Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3447
Fax: 27 41 504 1898
Email: jonathan.dorothy@mandela.ac.za

School of Architecture
Mr Boban Varghese
Mr. Boban Varghese
Position: Director:School of Architecture
Department: Architecture
Room: 302
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2719
Email: boban.varghese@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Arch(Kerala);M Des(IIT Bombay); PrArch; MIArch
Responsibilities: Director: School of Architecture

Thandile
Mrs Thandile Kosi
Position: Administrative Assistant
Department: Architecture
Room: 306
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 5044795
Email: thandile.kosi@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip. Project Management, FMP (UPE), NDip. Human Resource Management (NMU)
Responsibilities: Providing administrative support to the Academic staff.

Andrew Palframan
Mr Andrew Palframan
Position: HOD ; Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 5042719
Email: andrew.palframan@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: M.EESI(KTH Stockholm), B.Arch (UPE), B.BdgA (UPE), Pr.Arch. 21451
Responsibilities: Final Year M.Arch Studio

Ms Lourine
Ms Lourine Smith
Position: School Secretary
Department: School of Architecture
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 5042719
Email: Lourine.Smith@mandela.ac.za

Hyacinthe Tonga
Hyacinthe Tonga
Position: HOD and Lecturer - Architectural Tech. and Interior Design
Department: Architectural Technology & Interior Design
Room: 0308
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 3517
Email: Hyacinthet@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PrArch 26740605 SACAP, MArch Professional NMU, BAS NMU

Priya
Priya Peters
Position: Secretary
Department: School of Architecture
Room: 214
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041-504 9928
Email: priya.peters@mandela.ac.za

School of the Built Environment and Civil Engineering
Mr Wayne Draai
Mr Wayne Draai
Position: Lecturer
Department: Building and Human Settlement Development
Room: C219
Location: North Campus
Phone: 041 504 3076
Fax: 0866752658
Email: wayne.draai@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDipl Building, NHD Surveying, MDP (Unisa), MSc Built Environment
Expertise: Artisan Competencies in the Building Industry

Emmak
Ms Emma Ayesu-Koranteng
Position: Lecturer
Department: Building and Human Settlement Development
Room: c222
Location: North Campus
Phone: 0415043550
Email: Emma.Ayesu-Koranteng@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Built Environment Project Management, BTech Quantity Surveying, BTech Construction Management and ND Building
Expertise: Construction Health and Safety, Emerging contractor development

Mrs Nosipho Sam
Mrs Nosipho Sam
Position: Secretary
Department: Building and Human Settlement Development
Room: C213
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3295
Fax: +27 41 504 3491
Email: nosipho.sam@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip: Office Management & Technology
Responsibilities: Secretary

Chris Allen
Mr Christopher Allen
Position: Head of Department
Department: Construction Management
Room: 002D
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2155
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: chris.allen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Bdg.A; MSc(BE); ICIOB
Expertise: Virtual Construction Planning; Sustainable incl. net zero carbon construction
Responsibilities: Building Science: Environment & Services; Acting HOD responsible for student affairs incl. CMSS

Mrs Mariana Botes
Mrs Mariana Botes
Position: Secretary
Department: Construction Management
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2790
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: mariana.botes@mandela.ac.za
Responsibilities: Office administration

Mr Roy Cumberlege
Mr Roy Cumberlege
Position: Head of Department
Department: Quantity Surveying
Room: C104
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3020
Fax: +27 41 504 9935
Email: roy.cumberlege@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (QS), MSc (CE), PrQS, PMAQS, MRICS
Expertise: Quantity surveying: construction cost consultant

Ms Louise Engelbrecht
Ms Louise Engelbrecht
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Quantity Surveying
Room: C104B
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2669
Email: louise.engelbrecht@mandela.ac.za

Chenda Accone
Mrs Chenda Accone
Position: Acting Head of Department
Department: Civil Engineering
Room:  C205
Location: North Campus
Phone: 041 504 3551
Fax: 041 504 3491
Email: chenda.accone@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech Civil Engineering

Ms Lizelle Pienaar
Ms Lizelle Pienaar
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Civil Engineering
Room: C205
Location: North Campus
Phone: +2741 504 3297
Fax: +2741 504 1697
Email: lizelle.pienaar@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech (HRM), Assessors Cert.

School of Engineering
Farouk Smith
Professor Farouk Smith
Position: Head of Department
Department: Mechatronics
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3567
Fax: 27 41 504 9567
Email: farouk.smith@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Physics) ; BSc (Elec Eng), MSc (Elec Eng) UCT; PhD (Electronic Eng) Stell.
My site: https://scholar.google.co.za/citations?user=UBYGWJ8AAAAJ&hl=en

Khaled Abou El-Hossein
Professor Khaled Abou El-Hossein
Position: Head of Department
Department: Mechatronics
Location: North Campus
Phone: (041) 504 3368
Email: Khaled.Abou-El-Hossein@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Pr Eng, PhD, MEng
Expertise: Ultra-high precision manufacturing
My site: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=y02rB34AAAAJ&hl=en

Zandra Joubert
Mrs Zandra Joubert
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Mechatronics
Room: C234
Location: North Campus
Phone: (+27)41 504 3967
Fax: (+27)41 504 9645
Email: zandra.joubert@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA Hon (Corp Com)
Expertise: Public Relations & Corporate Communications
Responsibilities: Professional Administrator

Mr Grant Phillips
Mr Grant Phillips
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Electrical Engineering
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3560
Fax: 27 41 504 9560
Email: grant.phillips@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Pr Tech(Eng) ,B Tech (Elec Eng)(PET), M Tech Elec Eng(PET)

Lizl Blom
Mrs Lizl Blom
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Electrical Engineering
Room: B003
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1111
Fax: 27 41 504 1973
Email: lizl.blom@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip HRM (NMMU)

Mr Gysbert Kleyn
Mr Gysbert Kleyn
Position: Head of Department
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: NEB1-125
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3288
Fax: +27 41 504 9288
Email: gysbert.kleyn@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech (Mech Eng)

Ms Madelein Brown
Ms Madelein Brown
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: M144
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3285
Fax: 27 41 504 9285
Email: madelein.brown@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip (Management) NMU

Dr Ann Lourens
Dr Ann Lourens
Position: Head of Department
Department: Industrial Engineering
Room: M244
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9124
Email: ann.lourens@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NH Dip Prod Mgt, MBA(PET), DBA (NMMU) MSAIIE, ASEE
Expertise: Engineering Management
Responsibilities: Senior Lecturer, Head of Department

Mrs Nicole Truter
Mrs Nicole Truter
Position: Administrator
Department: Industrial Engineering
Room: C241
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3645
Fax: +27 41 504 9645
Email: nicole.truter@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: National Diploma: Public Relations
Expertise: Public Relations
Responsibilities: Administrative Professional

School of Information Technology
Sue Petratos
Dr. Sue Petratos
Position: Director of School - School of IT
Department: School of Information Technology
Room: R136
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3638
Email: sue.petratos@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Comp Dat Proc, NH Dip Computer Systems, MDip Tech IT (PET), PhD (NMMU)

Vuyelwa Ntungela
Ms Vuyelwa Ntungela
Position: Secretary
Department: School of Information Technology
Room: R136
Location: North Campus
Phone: 0415043278
Fax: 041 504 9832
Email: vuyelwa.ntungela@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA Degree (Tourism) (UWC)
Responsibilities: Provide receptionist support to the Director as well as general secretarial support to the School of ICT

Annelise Du Preez
Ms Annelise Du Preez
Position: HOD - Department of Applied Technologies
Department: Applied Informatics
Room: R252
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3143
Fax: +27 41 504 3313
Email: annelise.duPreez@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Com (Ed) (UPE)

Kerry-Lynn Thomson
Prof Kerry-Lynn Thomson
Position: Professor - School of IT
Department: Network Engineering
Room: R103
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3408
Fax: 27 41 504 3313
Email: kerry-lynn.thomson@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip IT (PET); B Tech IT (PET), M Tech IT (NMMU); D Tech IT (NMMU)
Expertise: Human Aspects of Information and Cyber Security, Information Security Awareness and Education, Communication Networks, Cisco Instructor
Responsibilities: HoD: Network Engineering

Prof Lynn Futcher
Prof Lynn Futcher
Position: Associate Professor - Department of IT Management and Governance
Department: IT Management & Governance
Room: R105
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9128
Fax: 27 41 504 3313
Email: lynn.futcher@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (UPE); HED (UNISA); B Tech IT (PET); M Tech IT (NMMU), PhD IT (NMMU)
Expertise: IT Project management, User Interface Design, Software Development, Research areas include Information and Cybersecurity Education, Secure Software Development and Human Aspects in Information and Cybersecurity
Responsibilities: HoD; MPhil in IT Governance Programme Manager; Lecturing; Masters and PhD Supervision

Rudi Harmse
Mr Rudi Harmse
Position: Senior Lecturer - Department of Information Technology
Department: Software Engineering
Room: R150
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9127
Fax: 27 41 505 3313
Email: rudi.harmse@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom (UPE); B Tech IT (PET); M Tech IT (PET); BA Honours - Psychology (NMMU)
Responsibilities: Head of Department: Software Engineering

Ms Farren Foutie
Ms Farren Foutie
Position: Secretary
Department: School of Information Technology
Room: R251
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3603
Email: farren.foutie@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Btech:Public Relations Management